Home Life 101 Life - Multidimensional Earth & Beyond 2012 - A Perspective Natural Health Resources About Us
Css Menu List by Vista-Buttons.com v4.3.0  


Chakras are energy centers that link our energy body with our physical form. They have long been an important element in Eastern religious teachings as well as in esoteric mystical traditions. There are 7 primary chakras, each of which functions in conjunction with one of the glands of our endocrine system. Energies functioning through the chakras are sensed by the receptor cells in the corresponding endocrine gland, which in turn secrete appropriate hormones in response to the energies.

There are additional chakras above our head and at other locations external to our body, and there are also energy centers at other locations throughout our body, but those are beyond the scope of our present consideration.

Each of the 7 primary chakras has a color associated with it, and is most sensitive to energies in that spectral range. The colors related to each chakra are shown in the diagram. The 7 major chakras are as follows:


Crown Chakra

The Crown chakra is like an energy cone that extends upward and outward from the top of the head. It is associated with pure consciousness, and may be considered to be our spiritual connection to the higher realms. The Crown chakra functions in conjunction with the Pineal gland, which is the "master gland" of the endocrine system. Although the Pineal gland functions primarily through the other endocrine glands, it itself secretes melatonin and serotonin which are related to the circadian rhythms of the body.

Brow Chakra

The Brow chakra extends outward toward the front from a point midway between the eye brows. The focal point of this chakra is directed inward toward the photo-receptor cells of the Pituitary gland. The Brow chakra, functioning in conjunction with the Pituitary gland, is traditionally referred to by the mystics as the "third eye", because this is the seat of our inner vision (clairvoyance).

Throat Chakra

The Throat chakra is located in the throat area. It is bi-directional in that it extends out toward the front, and also out toward the back. It is associated with the Thyroid gland. Mystics have long associated the Throat chakra with the function of clairaudience (inner hearing). It also is associated with creative expression.

Heart Chakra

The Heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, in the vicinity of the heart. It can be viewed as a "link-pin", linking the upper three "spiritual" chakras with the lower three "human" chakras. Like the Throat chakra, it is bi-directional, extending both the front and to the rear of the body. It is associated with the Thymus gland, which plays a key role in our immune system.

Solar Plexus Chakra

As the name implies, the Solar Plexus chakra is located at the solar plexus, which is about 2 inches above the naval. It is referred to by the mystics as the "power center" of the body. The solar plexus is also our emotional center. This chakra is associated with the Adrenal glands, a pair of glands with one located just above each Kidney. The Adrenal glands are related to the energy reserve system of the body, and play an active role in the "fight or flight" response.

Sexual Chakra

The Sexual chakra is located in the lower abdomen, and is associated with the gonads (testicles in the male and ovaries in the female). The Sexual chakra plays an important role in our reproductive instincts. And it is also associated with the sexual pleasure centers of the body (penis in the male and clitoris in the female).

Base Chakra

The Base chakra is located at the base of the spine (sacrum). This chakra is a grounding force that enables us to connect to the Earth energies and empower our being. It is closely related to the survival instincts of the body, and also our ability to be "present" in the here and now.

Home | Life 101 | Life - Multidimensional | Earth & Beyond | 2012 - A Perspective | Natural Health | Resources | About Us

Copyright 2010 John Hornecker - All rights reserved.